Minecraft Math

One of my favorite subjects to use Minecraft in the classroom is math. There are so many possibilities to showcase math ideas and concepts from patterns to place value, from graphs to fractions. My newest math project involved a challenge for both my grade 4’s and my grade 5’s this year.

Mrs. D’s Backyard was a challenge involving area and perimeter. I explained to the class that I felt the need to freshen up my backyard. So their challenge was to share a design for a new backyard for me. They could put whatever they thought my family and I might enjoy. The math piece was that the Grade 4’s would have to measure the area of the things they put in their designs, while the Grade 5’s would have to measure out the area and perimeter of whatever they put in their designs.

What they have come up with so far has been awesome. I have kids that are making me dog runs for my puppy dog, I have others that are making me outdoor firepits. I have the usual trampolines and hot tubs, but then I have others thinking outside the box and have been making me a bunker (oh boy😂) The thing that has been consistent though is the conversations about math. I have students doing math thinking – counting blocks , using adding and multiplication. But more importantly I have seen creative thinking and teamwork – students are working together in partners in their assignment.

For those considering Minecraft in the classroom, I really recommend it. Student engagement is high, the kids are excited to showcase their learning and the math learning is definitely there.

Design #1
Math Measurements for Design
Backyard Design 2
Math Measurement Design 2

Hopefully this gives others some ideas as to how they could use Minecraft in their classroom. The one big piece of advice I always give is that don’t be afraid to try it. Many teachers are hesitant to try it out because they don’t “do Minecraft”. The reply I give is that your kids are the experts so don’t be afraid to let them guide and help you. Kids love to be the experts in something, so why wouldn’t we give them that opportunity?

Leave a comment