I Will Remember….

So many of my PLN may not know this but my husband has been a member of the Canadian forces for over 20 years.  While I am not shy to pronounce that I am a teacher and most people that know me, know my occupation, my husband is much more quiet about his job and what he does.  The funny thing I bug him about his job all the time – all the acronyms that they come up with along with the reams of rules and regulations that need to be followed for the simplest things.  I am quick to complain about his job when he is home late for meetings and I have to do dayhome pickup or when he was posted away and couldn’t come home when our daughter spent a few days in the hospital because of an asthma attack.

The thing that many do not know and I am guessing he included, is that I am very proud to be a military wife.  When he puts on his dress uniform with its multitude of medals and ribbons that stand for things I do not understand, it does not matter because it means something and is very important to him which is therefore important to me. Many do not know that my husband spent close to 9 months in Afghanistan a few years ago.  This was a great sacrifice because our daughter was not even a year old when he went. He missed her first words, her first steps, the first time she completely slept through the night. Our only contact for that time was static-filled satellite calls at weird times of the day and night because of the time change. Many people asked if I was afraid when he was over there and why I didn’t tell him not to go.  To this I say of course I was scared, but that didn’t matter because he had an important job to do and he was willing to go over there and do it because that was what he was asked to do.  When he came home, he shared many pictures of the nicer aspects of what he saw and did over there.  I have shared many powerpoints with my students based on his own photographs of his time over there. As for the not so nice aspects, we never talked too indepth about it because it was hard for both him and me.  I had asked him whenever we talked, to tell him he was always safe, never in danger because that was what I needed.  However, I knew there were times that this was not so true because he saw things that caused him months of sleepless nights when he came home.

Our daughter asked a few nights ago why her daddy didn’t die like the other soldiers did (she is only 5 years old so things are very literal to her these days).  This honestly made me stop because I wanted to think of a response that answered her question rather than brushing it off and hiding away from it.  I told her because we were lucky, luckier than many others who lost fathers, husbands, brothers, uncles and sons. I am proud of my husband and what he does, what he stands for – freedom, sacrifice, Canada.  Today on this November 11th, I stood with my husband, daughter and many others to remember those who we lost because I am part of another family, a military family which I am proud to be a part of.

poppy

One thought on “I Will Remember….

Leave a Reply

