And so I Dip my Toe into the Water….

It doesn’t seem that long ago I heard about this “twitter” thing. I relegated it to the likes of Miley Cyrus and Ellen, not something for me. I didn’t Facebook or Pinterest, so why would I do this tweeting thing. Who had time??

Then I signed up last June to do a short term teacher exchange to Spain (which IS coming up in 2 weeks!! Ack!!) I was “asked” to either blog to tweet about my experience. Well blogging didn’t seem like something I’d have time for, so I jumped on board and decided to give it a whirl, not realizing how it would change my life, both personally and professionally.

For those new to twitter, it can be intimidating in the beginning, figuring out those unspoken rules – get rid of the “egg” profile, understand hashtags, how to follow, who to follow, spamming. It was a little overwhelming at first and I am not embarrassed to say I made some mistakes, looked like a fool more than once. But somehow I slowly figured it out and what came from my mistakes and adventures on twitter was amazing.

Without twitter, I would have never found out about Edcamps, Global Readaloud, Mystery Skypes and so much more. I would have not found the greatest twitter chats like #cdnedchat, #bcedchat and #mbedchat. But most importantly I would not have found the amazing PLN I have found. For those new to twitter I will tell you if you take the time and really look you will find educators who will make you think like Joe Bower, Greg Miller, George Couras, Pernille Ripp and so many more. You will find educators that will open your mind to the possibilities like Paul Solarz, Drew Minock, Brad Waid, Kathy Cassidy, Matt Gomez, Todd Nesloney, and again so many more. These people have made me look at my teaching and made me want to do more, do it better. They’ve shown me taking risks when it comes to my students is the greatest thing I can do, taking that road less traveled is not necessarily a bad thing.

But for me, most importantly, if you are lucky you will find educators that will reinvigorate your passion for this job and remind you why you started in this crazy business. These educators have been my sounding board when I needed to vent, answered my questions that I struggled with but most importantly they connected with me and my class, bringing my teaching to a whole new level. Kelli Holden, Dana Ariss, Zoe Bettes, Laura Weakland, Rebecca Sturdy thank you for being willing to connect with this newbie and help me to find my way, you have all played a part in helping me perhaps not become a better teacher, but more excited about my job again. I feel like that kid at Christmas, not being able to wait to share this new idea I have, this new connection we are going to make, this new road we are going to travel on.

So to those teachers who say I don’t have time to do twitter, I say you are wasting a golden opportunity. Twitter is limitless in the opportunities it can provide an educator. I say if you make the time, you will never look back. I know I don’t.

20140315-154727.jpg

2 thoughts on “And so I Dip my Toe into the Water….

  1. Kelli Holden

    Cathy, I feel very fortunate to have connected with you and continue to be inspired by your ideas. I know that your trip will be a whirlwind, but am sure you will leave a wonderful legacy, and come back with many new inspirations. The best part is that I know you will be sharing them all with us. Can’t wait to hear all about them!

    Reply
  2. Paul Solarz

    Reading this blog post made me very happy. You are so inspirational yourself and always make others feel great about themselves! I wish you luck in Spain & can’t wait to hear all about it!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

